Faculty

Photo of Melissa Johnson.Melissa Johnson, Department Chair and Associate Professor

Ph.D. 20th-Century British Literature and Women's Studies

M.F.A. Creative Writing--Poetry

Harris Hall 5191
804-827-3614
mcjohnson@vcu.edu

                                                   Office Hours:  Tuesday and Thursday 2-3 and by  appointment

Photo of AbelsonMichael Abelson, Associate Chair and Assistant Professor

Ed. D. Leadership Candidate 

M.A. Educational Policy Studies--Comparative Education

Harris Hall 5186
mabelson@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Tuesday 2:00-3:00 and Thursday 2:00-3:00

Photo of Sara BaileySara Bailey MacRae, Adjunct Instructor

M.A.T. English Education

Harris Hall 5121
baileyse5@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Monday 5:00-5:30, Wednesday 5:00-5:30, and Thursday 6:00-7:00

Blank silhouette representing an absent image.Tim Berge, Graduate Teaching Assistant

Candidate: M.A. English

M.S. Library Science

Harris Hall 5150

berget@mymail.vcu.edu

Office Hours: by appointment

Photo of Professor Berry.Wendi Berry, Adjunct Instructor

M.F.A. Creative Writing                               

M.B.A. 

Harris Hall 5121
weberry@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Tuesday 2:15-3:15 and Thursday, by appointment.

Photo of BoazBonnie Boaz, Assistant Professor

M.A. English

Harris Hall 5107
bboaz@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Monday 11:30-2:30 and online

Photo of Tanya BoucicautTanya Boucicaut, Assistant Professor

M.F.A. Theatre Pedagogy

M.Div. Theology

Harris Hall 5178
boucicautty@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Tuesday 10:00-2:00

Photo of BrayTara Bray, Assistant Professor

M.F.A. Creative Writing--Poetry

M.Ed. Education

Harris Hall 5108
tlbray@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Monday and Wednesday 11:00-12:00; Tuesday  and Thursday 11:20-12:20

Photo of Scott Brookman.Scott Brookman, Assistant Professor

M.A. English--Literature

Harris Hall 5180
sbrook@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Monday and Wednesday 1:00-3:00

Photo of Tara Burke.Tara Burke, Instructor

M.F.A. Poetry

Harris Hall 5170

burket2@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Monday and Wednesday 3:00-5:00 and by appointment

Photo of Ryan CalesRyan Cales, Assistant Professor and Co-coordinator of UTA Program

M.A. English--Writing and Rhetoric

Harris Hall 5104
calesre@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Monday 1:00-3:00 and Tuesday 1:30-3:00

Photo of Joe Cates.Joe Cates, Assistant Professor

M.F.A. Creative Writing--Poetry

Harris Hall 5156
s2jwcate@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Monday, Wednesday, Friday 9:00-11:00 and by appointment

Photograph of Frank ChaFrank Cha, Assistant Professor

Ph.D. American Studies

Harris Hall 5183
fscha@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Thursday 11:00-3:00

Blank silhouette representing an absent image.Vincent Chavez, Graduate Teaching Assistant

Candidate: MFA Creative Writing, Fiction

Hibbs 242

Office Hours: Tuesday 11:00-1:00

Photo of Lindsay ChudzikLindsay Chudzik, Associate Professor

M.F.A. Creative Writing--Fiction

Harris Hall 5135
chudzikla@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Monday 1:00-3:00, Wednesday 1:00-3:00, Friday 1:00-2:00, and by appointment

Photo of Hannah CollinsHannah Collins, Graduate Teaching Assistant

Candidate: M.A. English

Harris Hall 5150
collinsh2@mymail.vcu.edu

Office Hours: by appointment

Photo of Jason CoatsJason Coats, Assistant Professor

Ph.D. English

Harris Hall 5102
jmcoats@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Wednesday and Friday 1:00-3:00 and by appointment

Photo of Leslie Cohen-GeeLeslie Cohen-Gee, Assistant Professor

M.A. English--Literature

Harris Hall 5153
lcohen3@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Monday 2:00-3:00, Thursday 11:00-1:00, Friday 2:00-3:00, and by appointment

Photo of Jason CornerJason Corner, Assistant Professor

Ph.D. English

Harris Hall 5112
jlcorner@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Tuesday 10:00-12:00, Wednesday 2:00-4:00, Thursday 10:00-12:00, and by appointment

Photo of Laura CramerLaura Cramer, Graduate Teaching Assistant

Candidate: M.A. English

Hibbs 234
cramerle@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Tuesday 2-4 pm

Photo of Meriah CrawfordMeriah Crawford, Associate Professor

Ph.D. Literature and Criticism

M.F.A. Creative Writing

Harris Hall 5177
crawfordml@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Wednesday 10:00-2:00 and by appointment

Photo of Mariah CrilleyMariah Crilley, Instructor

Ph.D. English

M.A. English

Harris Hall 5160
mtcrilley@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Monday, Wednesday, and Friday 12:00-2:00

Photo of Michaux DempsterMichaux Dempster, Assistant Professor

M.F.A. Creative Writing--Fiction

M.Ed. School Counseling and M.A. English--Writing and Rhetoric

Harris Hall 5105
dempsterm@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Monday and Wednesday 2:00-4:00 and by appointment

Photo of Ywone Edwards-IngramYwone Edwards-Ingram, Assistant Professor

Ph.D. American Studies

M.A. Anthropology

Harris Hall 5161
edwardsingryd@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Mondays & Wednesdays 9:00-9:50 am & 3:00-4:10 pm.

Photo of Nicole Anderson EllisNicole Anderson Ellis, Associate Professor

M.F.A. Creative Writing--Fiction

Harris Hall 5155
naellis@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Monday, Wednesday, Friday 1:00-2:00 and by appointment

Photo of Elizabeth Fagan.Elizabeth Fagan, Assistant Professor

Ph.D. History and Anthropology

Harris Hall 5142
fagane@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Monday and Wednesday 2:30-4:30 pm 

Photo of Nikki FernandesNikki Fernandes, Instructor

M.A. English--Literature 

Harris Hall 5103
fernandesn2@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Fall: MWF 9-10 and Wednesday 11-12

Spring: Tuesday 10:00-2:00

Photo of Thad Fortney.Thaddeus Fortney, Assistant Professor and VCU Common Book Coordinator

M.A. Russian Language and Literature

Harris Hall 5184
twfortney@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Tuesday 11:00-2:00, Wednesday 12:00-3:00, and Thursday 11:00-2:00

Photo of Hannah FranzHannah Franz, Assistant Professor and Interim Director of the FILL

Ph.D. Educational Policy, Planning, and Leadership

Harris Hall 5116f

askinh@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Tuesday & Thursday 4:30-5:30 (in the FILL)

Photo of Jamie Fueglein.Jamie Fueglein, Assistant Professor

M.F.A. Creative Writing--Fiction

Harris Hall 5140
s2jafueg@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Monday, Wednesday, and Friday 8:30-9:00 & 11:00-12:00. By appointment Tuesday and Thursday. 

Photo of Josh GalliganJoshua Galligan, Assistant Professor

Ph.D.  Candidate Leadership and Change

M.F.A. Theatre Pedagogy

Harris Hall 5179
galliganjm@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Monday and Wednesday 12:00-3:00

Photo of Jeremy Godfrey.Jeremy Godfrey, Adjunct Instructor

Ph.D. Composition and Rhetoric

Harris Hall 5121

godfreyj4@vcu.edu

Office Hours: 

Photo of Jessica GordonJessica Gordon, Associate Professor

Ph.D. MATX

M.A. English--Literature 

Harris Hall 5175
jbgordon@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Tuesday 1:00-3:30 and Thursday 8:00-9:30

Photo of Julianne GuillardJulianne Guillard,  Assistant Professor

Ph.D. Curriculum and Instruction & Women's Studies

Harris Hall 5111
jguillard@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Monday & Wednesday 10:00-11:00 and by appointment

Blank silhouette representing an absent image.Jane Hagen,  Graduate Teaching Assistant

Candidate: M.A. English

Harris Hall 5150

Office Hours:  by appointment

Photo of Mary Lou HallMary Lou Hall, Associate Professor

M.F.A. Creative Writing--Fiction

Harris Hall 5113
mhall@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Monday 11:45-12:45, Thursday 12:00-3:00, and by appointment

Photo of Peter HenryPeter Henry, Associate Professor

Ph.D. English

M.F.A. Creative Writing--Poetry

Harris Hall 5188
prhenry@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Thursday 12:00-1:00 & 2:00-3:00 and Friday 12:00-1:00 & 3:00-4:00

Photo of Christian HorlickChristian Horlick, Assistant Professor

M.F.A. Creative Writing--Poetry

Harris Hall 5151
cbhorlick@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Tuesday  and Thursday 3:30-5:30

Photo of Nadia InserraIncoronata "Nadia" Inserra, Assistant Professor

Ph.D. English

Ph.D. Anglophone Studies

Harris Hall 5129
iinserra@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Monday and Wednesday 3:00-4:30; Friday 3:00-4:00

Photo of Chris Jackson.Christopher Jackson, Assistant Professor

M.A. English--Literature

Harris Hall 5130
cnjackson@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Monday, Wednesday, Friday 3:00-4:30 and by appointment. 

Photo of Joan Kaylan.Joan Kaylan, Assistant Professor

M.F.A. Creative Writing--Poetry

Harris Hall 5158
jkalyancurti@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Tuesday 12:00-3:00, Wednesday 3:00-3:50, and by appointment

Photo of Jake KhouryJake Khoury, Instructor

M.A. English--Literature

Harris Hall 5154
khouryjf@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Monday 12:00-3:00 and by appointment

Blank silhouette representing an absent image.Hannah Kilgore, Graduate Teaching Assistant

Candidate: M.A. English

Hibbs 234

Office Hours: Monday 1:30-2:30

Photo of Jason KirbyJason Kirby, Assistant Professor

Ph.D. Critical and Comparative Studies in Music

M.A. American Studies

Harris Hall 5132
jkirby2@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Wednesday 1:00-5:00

Photo of Beth KreydatusBeth Kreydatus, Associate Professor and Faculty Development Coordinator

Ph.D. History 

Harris Hall 5145
eakreydatus@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Monday, Wednesday, and Friday 11:00-11:50 & 1:00-1:50;  Tuesday 10:30-12:00, and by appointment

Photo of Kiara LeeKiara Lee, Instructor

Ph.D. Education

M.Ed. Social Foundations

Harris Hall 5133
leek29@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Monday and Wednesday 2:00-4:00

Photo of Hilary Levinson.Hilary Levinson, Assistant Professor

Ph.D. Comparative Literature 

Harris Hall 5169
hlevinson@vcu.edu

Office Hours:  Tuesday and Thursday 2:00-3:00 and Wednesday 11:00-1:00. 

Photo of Katie LoganKatie Logan, Assistant Professor

Ph.D. Comparative Literature 

Harris Hall 5152
kmlogan@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Tuesday 1:00-3:00 and Wednesday 3:00-4:00

Place holder, decorativeCatherine MacDonald, Adjunct Instructor

M.F.A. Creative Writing--Poetry

Harris Hall 5121
macdonaldca@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Tuesday and Thursday 3:30-4:30

Place holder, decorativeCatherine P. Malone, Graduate Teaching Assistant

Ph.D. Candidate Art Education

M.A. Art History

Harris Hall 5150
malonecp@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Tuesday 1:00-2:30

Photo of Troy MartinTroy Martin, Assistant Professor

Ph.D. Educational Studies

M.S.W. Social Work

Harris Hall 5147
tmartin22@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Tuesday  3:30-5:00 and Wednesday 12:00-3:00

Photo of Chris Martiniano.Chris Martiniano, Instructor

Ph.D. Candidate English and Art History

M.A. English

Harris Hall 5166
martinianc@vcu.edu

Office Hours: 

Photo of Andrew MarxAndrew Marx, Assistant Professor

Ph.D. Philosophy

J.D. Law

Harris Hall 5159
almarx@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Monday 3:00-4:00, Tuesday 12:00-2:00, and Wednesday 12:00-12:50

Blank silhouette representing an absent image.Anna-Claire McGrath, Graduate Teaching Assistant

Candidate: MFA Creative Writing, Fiction

M.Sc Theatre and Performance Studies

Hibbs 240
mcgrathac@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Thursday 2:00-3:30

Photo of Mike McIntyreMichael McIntyre, Assistant Professor and Curriculum Coordinator

M.F.A. Creative Writing--Fiction

Harris Hall 5174
s2mdmcin@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Tuesday 10:30-12:00 and Thursday 1:00-2:30

Photo of Mark MeierMark Meier, Instructor

M.A. English

Harris Hall 5134
mameier@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Monday 1:00-2:00, Wednesday 1:00-2:00 & 3:00-4:00, and Friday 3:00-4:00

Photo of Mary MullinsMary Mullins, Assistant Professor

M.F.A. Creative Writing

Harris Hall 5146
mullinsmb@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Tuesday & Thursday 11:00-12:00, Wednesday 1:30-3:30, & by appointment

Photo of Jeffrey MurrayJeffrey Murray, Associate Professor

Ph.D. Communication Studies

M.A. Rhetoric and Communication Studies, M.S. Biophysics, and M.A. Religious Studies--biomedical ethics

Harris Hall 5165

jwmurray@vcu.edu

   Office Hours: Monday 11:00-11:50 & 2:00-3:00, and Wednesday and Friday 11:00-11:50

Photo of Tom NelsonThomas Nelson, Associate Professor

Ph.D. English

Harris Hall 5185
tjnelson@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Wednesday 1:00-3:00

Photo of Bill NotterWilliam Notter, Associate Professor

M.F.A. Creative Writing--Poetry

Harris Hall 5181
wjnotter@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Monday, Wednesday, Friday 12:00-12:30 & 3:00-4:00

Photo of Vicki PalloVicki Pallo, Associate Professor and Textbook Coordinator

Ph.D. English Literature 

Harris Hall 5137
vpallo@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Tuesday 11:00-1:00 & Thursday 1:00-3:00

Place holder, decorativeAmber Pearson, Assistant Professor and Co-Coordinator of UTA Program

Ph.D. English Literature

M.F.A. Creative Writing--Poetry

Harris Hall 5117
arpearson@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Tuesday 11:00-1:00

Photo of David Pratt.David Pratt, Assistant Professor

Ph.D. American Studies

Harris Hall 5115

dpratt@vcu.edu

Office Hours:

Photo of Kristin Reed.Kristin Reed, Associate Professor

Ph.D. Comparative Literature

Harris Hall 5106
kreed@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Monday and Wednesday 11:00-1:00

Dionna Richardson, Instructor

Ph.D. History

Harris Hall 5170

richardsod3@vcu.edu

Office Hours: MWF 10-11:40 am

Photo of Kirk RichardsonKirk Richardson, Associate Professor

Ph.D. American Culture Studies

Harris Hall 5144
krichard@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Monday, Wednesday, Friday 12:00-2:00, and Tuesday, Thursday 11:00-12:30 & 2:00-3:00

Photo of Stephanie RizziStephanie Rizzi, Assistant Professor

M.A. English---Writing and Rhetoric

Harris Hall 5176
rizzism@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Tuesday and Thursday 11:00-12:30

Photo of Joseph SchaubJoseph Schaub, Associate Professor

Ph.D. 20th-Century American Literature

Harris Hall 5110
jschaub@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Monday 3:00-4:30 and  Wednesday 3:00-4:30

Photo of Jennifer Selman FlanaganJennifer Selman,  Assistant Professor and GTA Coordinator

M.A. English--Writing and Rhetoric

Harris Hall 5149
selmanja@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Wednesday 1-2 and Thursday 12:30-1:30

Mallory Stephenson,  Graduate Teaching Assistant

Ph.D. Candidate Developmental Psychology

Harris Hall 5150
stephensonm2@mymail.vcu.edu

Office Hours: by appointment

Courtney Sviatko, Instructor

M.A. English--Literary Research

Harris Hall 5164
sviatkoca@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Monday 2:00-3:00,  Tuesday 10:30-12:30, and Wednesday 2:00-3:00

Photo of Rose SzaboRose Szabo, Adjunct Instructor

M.F.A. Creative Writing-Fiction

M.A. English

Harris Hall 5121
szabor@mymail.vcu.edu

Office Hours: Monday, Wednesday, & Friday 1:00-1:45

Photo of Allison Tharp.Allison Tharp, Assistant Professor

Ph.D. English

Harris Hall 5143

tharpa2@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Monday and Wednesday 2:00-3:00, Tuesday 12:00-2:00

Photo of Judy Topich.Judy Topich, Assistant Professor

M.A. English--Writing and Rhetoric

Harris Hall 5157
jatopich@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Monday and Wednesday 3:30-4:30 and Tuesday and Thursday 1:00-3:00

Photo of Virginia TotaroVirginia Wray Totaro, Assistant Professor and Assessment Coordinator

M.S. Sociology

Harris Hall 5187
vwtotaro@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Monday 1:00-2:00, Tuesday 11:30-12:30, Wednesday 10:00-11:00, and by appointment

Photo of Matthew VechinskiMatthew Vechinski, Associate Professor

Ph.D. English and Textual Studies

Harris Hall 5131
mjvechinski@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Monday 11:00-11:50, Wednesday 10:00-11:50, 1:00-1:50

Photo of Carver WeakleyCarver Weakley, Instructor

M.A. English

Harris Hall 5168
weakleyac@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Monday & Wednesday 11:00-12:00 and 3:00-4:00

Photo of Emily WilliamsEmily Williams, Assistant Professor

M.A. English

Harris Hall 5141
williamsec3@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Wednesday 2:00-4:00, Thursday 11:00-1:00, and by appointment.

Place holder, decorativeFelecia Williams, Interim Associate Dean and Assistant Professor

Ph.D. Public Policy and Administration

Harris Hall 5127
williamsfd@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Monday, Wednesday, & Friday 11:55-12:55 

Photo of Larry WilliamsLarry Williams, Assistant Professor

M.F.A. Creative Writing

Harris Hall 5138
lewillia@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Monday, Wednesday, Friday 9:00-10:00, and by appointment

Photo of Paul Yoon.Paul Yoon, Assistant Professor

Ph.D. Ethnomusicology

Harris Hall 5139
pyoon@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Monday, Wednesday and Friday 8:15-8:50 & 10:00-10:45

Photo of Kim ZicafooseKim Zicafoose, Instructor

M.A. English--Writing and Rhetoric

Harris Hall 5114
s2klzica@vcu.edu

Office Hours: Wednesday 9:00-1:00
and by appointment

Virginia Commonwealth University

Department of Focused Inquiry

Harris Hall, 5th Floor
1015 Floyd Avenue
Box 842015
Richmond, Virginia 23284-2015

Phone: 804-827-0838

Updated: 8/30/2019

Privacy| Accessibility 

Privacy Statement